Tags

Further memories of the New Zealand area and its long-gone corner shops have been sent to Bygones. Jane Goddard reports.

WHEN Phil Garner read Jill Brownsword’s recent reminiscences about the New Zealand area of Derby, he was transported back to his teenage years.
Many memories of those early years in the late 1950s and early 1960s came flooding back as he read about the shops and businesses frequented by Mrs Brownsword.
Mr Garner, who now lives in Littleover, said: “I spent most of my teens in Surrey Street as my mum kept a sweets and tobacco shop there. It must have been the one described in Mrs Brownsword’s article as being kept by the Misses Kaye, as it was next door to Mrs Jennings’ wool shop at the top of the street.
“Obviously, Mrs Brownsword’s memories are from an earlier period. My mum’s name was Millie Garner.
“I remember that my parents purchased the shop from a Mrs or Miss Salt – did she follow the Misses Kaye, I wonder?
“The years that my family were involved in the business were from 1959 to 1964.
“Most of the other names that Mrs Brownsword recalled in her piece I remember very well.
“After we had left to take up residence in St Albans Road, I remember Mr and Mrs Jennings also finished their wool shop business and retired to somewhere in Wales.
“They wrote frequently to my mum, keeping in touch for many years.
“I had my hair cut by Les Groves regularly but he didn’t live next door to our shop.
“There was a house between us occupied by a family by the name of Pipes.
“My sister, Jill, was a friend of their daughter, Christine, as she was also of Judith Anderson, who lived  across the road in Richardson Street.
“One shop Jill didn’t mention was Mr Morley’s Off Licence on the corner of Richardson Street and Handford Street.
“As for the fish and chip shop, my parents knew owners Geoff and Ida Pacey well and I was matey with their son, Philip, who I still bump into from time to time.
“Between the chippy and Les Groves’ barbers shop was a house occupied by the King family.
“Again, I knocked around with Mr and Mrs King’s son Trevor quite a lot.
“I haven’t been along Surrey Street for quite a while now but, when I last did, I saw most of the shops (including our old one) have closed and the premises have been redeveloped into houses.
“Such is progress. But it was very nice to be reminded of my early years and the people who played a part in them. Thank you Jill Brownsword.”

